Fleur Seule is reviewed by Music Man with their new album Standards and Sweet Things

828 0
Fleur Seule


CD Review Review: Fleur Seule “Standards and Sweet Things”

Fleur Seule
The Fleur Seule Band, pronounced “Fleur” “Sull”, has recently released their 5th studio album “Standards and Sweet Things” that captures the heart and soul of what this band is all about.  It turns out that this band is about fabulous songs played by musicians who appreciate and understand the great music played in America during the 1940’s.  The heart of the band is represented by their beautiful and talented bandleader and vocalist, Allyson Briggs.   When I played the first song on this CD, “Taking A Chance On Love” I immediately liked Allyson Briggs’ voice and phrasing along with the outstanding musicians that supported her perfectly.  By the time I had listened to all 16 classic songs on this CD, I was in love with Allyson’s voice.  In this CD, the band takes us on a multilingual journey, from the Swing Era days of Old New York, to Paris during WWII, to the tropical sounds of Puerto Rico.   The talented bandleader and vocalist Allyson Briggs sings in 7 languages and speaks 4.  Her voice is dead-on perfect for the song gems that are included in the CD.  Listening to this CD is like listening to an old friend who is warm, friendly and comfortable!
The Fleur Seule Band has been performing in New York for many years and I can’t believe that this is my first experience with them.   The band has performed to sold out crowds at Dizzy’s Club, Coca Cola, The Friar’s Club, Birdland Jazz Club and a 5 year residency as the house band of Tavern on the Green.   This CD would be a fabulous Christmas present for any of your friends or family.
The great Michael Feinstein had this to say about Allyson Briggs, “One of the most incredible talents out there today!”.  I fully agree, Allyson Briggs singing is as near perfect as one can get.
1. “Taking a Chance on Love”
2. “Piel Canela”
3. “I Only Have Eyes For You”
4. “Zou Bisou Bisou”
5. “Sabor A Mi
6. “Them There Eyes”
7. “Tenderly”
8. “Manuelo”
9. “Misty”
10. “Shoo-Fly Pie and Apple Pan Dowdy”
11. “Con Los Anos Que Me Quedan”
12. “Almost Like Being In Love”
13. ” La Vie En Rose”
14. “Sweet Happy Life”
15. “Embraceable You”
16. “S Wonderful”
Allyson Briggs- Vocals, Bandleader, Producer
Andy Warren- Trumpet, Arranger, Musical Director
Jason Yeager- Piano
Michael O’Brien- Bass
Paul Francis- Drums
Richard Miller- Guitar
Ivan Llanes- Percussion
Martina DaSilva, Vanessa Perea, Marg Davis- Background Vocals
Music Mixed by John Kilgore
I have attached 3 “YouTubes” for your enjoyment that cover the wide range of talents of Allyson Briggs and the Fleur Seule Band.  Take particular note of Allyson’s vocal timing singing  “Tenderly”,  its as good as any vocalist can produce.  Take my strong recommendation and the next time you find yourself in New York City and Fleur Seule is performing, catch their act for a night of pure enjoyment of songs from the “Great American Songbook”.
Kari Gaffney

Kari Gaffney

Since 1988 Kari-On Productions has helped artists get an even footing in the industry through jazz promotion in the genres of Jazz, World & Latin Jazz through Jazz Radio and Publicity. Why do we do both, because they compliment each other, and we care about fiscal longevity for the artist.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.