Michael Whalen : Future Shock is reviewed by Jazzweekly

674 0
Michael Whalen


by George Harris


Michael Whalen : Future Shock








Fusion fun is the name of the game with Michael Whalen at the keyboards, synths and beyond with the hip team of drummer Simon Phillips, reed man Bob Magnuson and Crimson bassist Tony Levin. You get a mix of Middle Eastern disco and VOX on the hoot of “Future Shock” with you looking for the disco ball on the upbeat “La Hermosa Noche”.  A dash of Del Shannon’s “Runaway” on the synthy “Polly Jam” and Magnuson’s soprano goes Kenny G on a musicular “Morning On The Cape” while it  is urgent as it rides Phillips wave on “Wanderlust”. Smooth jazz  chimes on “Memories of You”. Dancing beats and funky treats.

Kari Gaffney

Kari Gaffney

Since 1988 Kari-On Productions has helped artists get an even footing in the industry through jazz promotion in the genres of Jazz, World & Latin Jazz through Jazz Radio and Publicity. Why do we do both, because they compliment each other, and we care about fiscal longevity for the artist.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.